Blueberry Plum Paletas

31 Jul

I am moving back to Cambridge/Somerville in a couple weeks. Though I am happy to be going “home,”  I’m dreading the move.  I HATE moving.  The actual move day is horrible, but it’s the packing I can’t stand – and the unpacking.  In an effort to avoid these unpleasant things, I’ve turned to the kitchen.  Since it is too hot for me to want to use my oven, I decided to make paletas or popsicles. Few things taste better on a hot day then a popsicle.

With just three simple ingredients (and no added sugar), these all fruit pops are easy to whip up.

BlueberryPlumPopsiclesIngredients

Blueberries and pomegranates make the perfect combo with their anti-oxidant, super-food superpowers.  Not to mention, they taste good.   I threw in plums as well, but any other fruit would do – next up, blueberry peach?!

BlueberryPlumPopsicles

makes approximately 10 three oz popsicles

Ingredients:
3 cups blueberries
1 cup plums, pitted and chopped (or other fruit)
1/2 cup pomegranate juice

3 oz plastic cups and popsicle sticks, or popsicle molds

Directions:

Blend together 2 1/2 cups blueberries, plums, and juice, until smooth.  Add in remaining blueberries and pulse a couple times (you want some fruit chunks).

Pour into cups on a baking sheet.  Put in freezer for 30 minutes.  Insert popsicle sticks and freeze until solid.  Enjoy or put into plastic bags and eat as you please.

Recipe inspired by Olga Berman.

2 Responses to “Blueberry Plum Paletas”

  1. FAF August 7, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    These look great for kids.

Leave a comment