Quinoa Fritters

5 Apr

This is the time of year that I start wearing sandals, ballet flats (without tights), and bright colored clothes in an effort to make spring come faster.  I am sure that if I believe 55 degrees is warm enough to bare my ankles, it will be.  In the northeast, the reality is that it will hover around these temps for a couple weeks, then we will have one beautiful “spring” week with perfect temperature, and suddenly I will be complaining about how hot and humid it is.  Yet I still can’t wait.

I don’t know why but these fritters feel like spring to me – perhaps because they would be the perfect starchy accompaniment to a delicious salad.  And once my CSA starts coming, I know I will have a plethora of fresh greens for salad making. (It’s not too late to sign up for a CSA! You can find one near you and make sure you have delicious (and organic) fruits and vegetables all summer long.)

I promise everyone will like these fritters, even those quinoa naysayers.  I mean, who can say no to what is essentially an amped up latke?

MainQuinoaFritters

Ingredients:
canola oil
1 large shallot, diced
2 large clove garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups mashed potatoes
3 eggs, beaten
2 1/2 cups cooked quinoa
3 Tbsp potato starch
1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
popcorn kernel (optional)

 

Directions:

In a large skillet over medium-high, heat a small amount of oil.  Add the shallots and saute until softened and lightly browned, about 3 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.  Transfer to a bowl to cool slightly.

In a large bowl, use a fork to mix together the mashed potatoes and eggs. Stir in the quinoa, potato starch, salt, pepper and the sauteed shallot mixture.  Cover and put in the fridge for 30 minutes and up to 1 day.

Heat about 1/2 cup of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat and heat until very hot but not smoking. (You can put a popcorn kernel in with the oil and when it pops, you know it is the perfect temperature.)

Scoop the fritter mixture into tangerine size balls. Place 4 or 5 balls in the skillet, then use a lightly oiled spatula to gently flatted them.  Cook until golden brown and crisp on the bottom, about 2 minutes. Flip the fritters and cook for an additional 2 minutes, then transfer to paper towels to drain. Repeat with remaining fritters.

Serve warm with horseradish or any kind of fancy aioli (sriracha is my favorite) and pair with a spring vegetable and fruit salad.  These are also great reheated in the toaster oven – and even taste good cold out of the refrigerator (though I like most leftovers cold out of the refrigerator).

QuinoaFrittersPlate

I may try these baked next – I’ll let you know how they go!

Leave a Reply

