Coconut & Pecan Breakfast Cookies

12 Jan

An on-the-go breakfast is often a necessity; I didn’t leave enough time after my workout, I woke up late, I stayed up past my “bedtime”, etc.  I’m sure I’m not the only one.  On these occasions, I all to often turn to my friend, the Kind Bar.  And although they are delicious and not filled with processed junk, I didn’t make them myself.

Here’s a make-ahead breakfast for those rushed days – an easy grab on the way out the door.   Filled with pecans, coconut, fruit, and oats and sweetened with only bananas and a touch of agave, these “cookies” hit the spot (though some might argue if you try calling them dessert).

IMG_1386

Ingredients:

1.5 cups gluten free rolled oats
1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1 tbsp flaxmeal
1 tbsp chia seeds
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cups chopped pecans
1/2 cup chopped dried fruit (I used TJ’s Golden Berry Blend)
3 medium ripe bananas (if you don’t have any ripe ones, try roasting them)
1/4 cup coconut oil
1 Tbsp agave nectar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine oats, coconut, flaxmeal, chia seeds, salt, pecans, and dried fruit in a large bowl. Mash bananas and stir in with the oil, agave nectar, and vanilla.

Using a 2″ or 3″ round cookie cutter as a guide, press in a couple spoonfuls of the mixture to form round cookies.  This should fill the tray.

IMG_1358

Bake for 25 minutes or until golden. Cool on pan. Enjoy!

Makes 12-16 cookies, depending on the size of your cookie cutter.

IMG_1376

These will keep in an airtight container on the counter for a couple days or for a week or so in the fridge.

Adapted from Kumquat

Leave a Reply

