Quick Soba Slaw Salad – Cook tonight!

5 Jan

If you are anything like me, this is a typical evening:

I come home from work completely spent, and, despite my love of cooking, I think about how easy it would be if I just ordered in. I contemplate the options in my neighborhood. I remember my budget. I debate cooking. Thoughts drift to the cute Mexican sandwich shop near me – and so on. My internal dialogue rages for a while and then (most of the time) I head to the fridge to cook.

For just these moments, I try to stock the pantry and fridge with many items that allow me to make quick dinners. Now that my hubby is living in NYC, I’m also cooking for one. This adds an additional challenge, since all of my Jewish grandmother instincts tell me to make meals that could feed a large dinner party.

Made with the ever virtuous buckwheat noodle, this soba salad is a simple, healthy, and tasty meal.  In fact, I liked it so much last night, I think I may make it again right now (my stomach just rumbled in agreement).

This meal feeds one, but if you are cooking for more than just yourself, you can easily multiply the quantities.

Ingredients:

3.5 oz (1 bundle) soba noodles, broken in half

1 tbsp crunchy natural peanut butter (I love Teddy)

sriracha to taste (I used 4 tsp – but it was hot!)

1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce (or high sodium – whatever you’ve got around)

1 tbsp rice vinegar

1 scallion chopped, or teaspoon chopped chives

small handful cilantro, chopped (optional, but I love it)

2 tbsp hot water

2 cups broccoli slaw (I used Trader Joe’s variety – you could also sub a cabbage slaw)

peanuts (I used 7g – a small handful)

Directions:

Cook soba noodles for about 3 minutes, until tender. Drain and rinse under cold water.

Meanwhile, whisk peanut butter, soy sauce, rice vinegar, and water until it has a smooth consistency.  Stir in scallion and cilantro. In large bowl, toss together broccoli slaw, noodles, and sauce.  Top with peanuts and enjoy!

Bon appétit!

3 Responses to “Quick Soba Slaw Salad – Cook tonight!”

  1. Chef Gerald@bistrogerard January 6, 2012 at 3:44 am #

    This looks delicious – I love soba noodles 🙂

  2. When Harry Met Celery January 9, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Nice one 😀 Sorry I haven’t dropped lately!! This own is yet again, my kinda cooking. How you impress me 😀 Come see me soon!!!

Leave a Reply

