Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas

20 Dec

Being from New Mexico, I have a true love for spicy food.  New Mexican cuisine is altogether different from Mexican, based primarily on its use of green chile (Hatch green chile). Unfortunately living in Boston, I only have limited quantities of green chile, which I hoard for very special occasions, therefore I must make do with substitutes. Enchiladas, as I’ve mentioned before, are one of my signature dishes and one of the primary ways I fill this void.  I have lately been experimenting with more creative versions and this one is my latest invention.

It is actually a sweet potato, black bean, and kale enchiladas, but that seemed too long a name. I made this one a rolled enchilada, rather than my traditional flat casserole style.  It is delicious, healthy, vitamin packed and super easy.

Ingredients:

2 large sweet potatoes

1 large onion

1 large head of kale (about 1 lb), destemmed and chopped

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed

2 cans enchilada sauce (I use hot)

6 oz cheddar cheese, grated

12-16 corn tortillas

Cumin

Red chile powder

S & P

avocado and cilantro, for serving (optional, but delicious)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly oil a baking pan. Peel and chop sweet potatoes into 1″ cubes.

Drizzle with olive oil and toss with cumin and red chile powder. Bake for about 20 minutes or until soft and slightly crispy (use a fork to test – if they smash easily, they are done).

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat.  Add onions and cook until just translucent.  Add kale and toss frequently, bringing the more cooked greens to the top.  Cook until the kale is tender and add black beans. Then season with cumin, red chile powder, and S & P to taste. Set aside to cool.

Lightly smash sweet potatoes in a bowl, leaving some larger chunks.  Add in one can of enchilada sauce and half of the grated cheese.  Stir to combine.

Put tortillas in oven to warm for about 2 minutes to warm – this will prevent them from breaking when you make the enchiladas. Add potato mixture to kale and stir.

Fill each tortilla with mixture, about 3/4 of a cup.

Roll tortilla and put into baking pan, seam side down.  Repeat until you have filled baking pan. You can squeeze quite a few in.

Top with 1 can enchilada sauce and remaining cheese.

Bake for about 25 minutes. Then turn oven to broil and leave in for about 5 mins until the cheese is golden and bubbly.

Serve with avocado slice (or guacamole) and cilantro from garnish. Try to refrain from eating entire pan by yourself (probably best to make for a crowd so you can stop yourself).

I had extra filling too, which I mixed with scrambled eggs the next morning. Yum.

This is a Vegetarian Epicurean original.

4 Responses to “Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas”

  1. When Harry Met Celery December 20, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    So here I am. Your dish sounds delicious! All the flavours are so much in sync. I’m surely giving this a shot. When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some Ferrero Rocher bars and would love to hear what you think. Cheers!

    • vegetarianepicurean December 20, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

      I loved your website too! Especially the cute graphics on top. Thanks for coming by.

  2. Bruleed December 20, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    Oh my god, these look so good! I made your corn bean and kale enchiladas and they were so good I almost died (died in a good way of course).

    • vegetarianepicurean December 20, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

      I’m glad you liked them. These might be better – it’s a close call, but the rolled kind are fun too!

Leave a Reply

