Fluffy Pecan Pie

16 Dec

Something you will learn about me: pie is my favorite dessert.  Be it a tart, crostata, or standard pie, custard, cream or fruit, I like them in all shapes and sizes.  My wedding featured pie centerpieces (rather than the traditional cake) and each guest had a flavor to sit at rather than a table number.  We passed around pie pops.  If I hadn’t decided to plan and execute the whole thing myself, I may have even given pie favors.

Pie pops

This is where I curse myself for not having photorapher take more decor pics…

But I digress….

This is the best pecan pie ever. I kid you not; the ground pecans allow you to get nuts in every bite and experience a perfect nut/filling ratio. I got the recipe from my cousin a couple years ago, and have been making it every Thanksgiving since. If you are looking for a pie to make for the holidays, this is the one. It is simple and a definite crowd-pleaser.

Ingredients:

1  single pie crust recipe
1/3 C butter
3/4 C brown sugar
3 eggs
1C light corn syrup
1C pecan halves, ground (I do it myself from pecan halves in food processor to make sure there’s no shells)
1t vanilla
1/4 t salt
pecan halves

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream sugar and butter.  Add in eggs, one at a time, mixing slowly. Add corn syrup and beat.  Add ground pecans, vanilla, and salt, and beat until combined.  Pour into crust and decorate with pecan halves. Put on a cookie sheet and bake for 50 mins or until set.

I made this one for Thanksgiving, but failed to get many good pictures of it. It sure was tasty though.

Leave a Reply

