Rochester-Style Greens and Beans

4 Dec

This dish is amazing.  I made it the other night and it was so good I decided to take a break from my Thanksgiving recipes to share it. My good friend N’s mom, Susan, gave me this wonderful recipe – it is their family twist on the Italian classic.  If you are looking for a good way to add greens to your meal, while still enjoying something hearty and delicious, this recipe is for you.

Ingredients:

2 lbs. escarole, washed well and coarsely chopped – I substituted kale because the store didn’t have escarole – it was amazing!
1 1/2 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1/3  to 1 cup low sodium vegetable broth – I use Better Than Bouillon – No Chicken Base. It is the best, but I use far less than they suggest and do it to taste (the amount of broth you use depends on how soupy you prefer it)
1 can (15 oz.) cannellini beans or white kidney beans, undrained
scant 3/4 tsp. salt
3/4 tsp. ground pepper
crushed red pepper (to taste – I like a lot)
1/2 box linguine, cooked all dente – or you can try out some homemade pasta – I did and it was superb!
grated pecorino romano

Directions:

Bring a large pot of salted water to boil, add escarole (or kale) and blanch 1 minute. Drain and gently squeeze out excess liquid.

In large skillet over medium heat, sauté olive oil and garlic for 1 minute. Add escarole (or kale) and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add remaining ingredients and simmer, covered, for 5 minutes.

Serve over hot cooked linguine with grated pecorino romano.

So delicious!

A note on using kale:

BEST VEGGIE EVER

Kale is a wonderful, vitamin-packed green.  I eat it whenever I can.  To use, remove the stems, and then chop roughly.

The stems are very bitter - remove quickly with a knife, and enjoy!

A trick for cleaning up your mess while cooking:

If you compost, or even if you don’t, you can put a plastic grocery bag in a large bowl to collect all of your vegetable waste as you cook.  It helps keep a cleaner counter and it just cool.  I learned this trick from my sister in law, Gabby, who, I think, learned it from Rachel Ray.

One Response to “Rochester-Style Greens and Beans”

  1. When Harry Met Celery December 20, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    I love your space! There is so much to learn from you. Love the way you mix and match flavours. Just my kind of cooking!

Leave a Reply

