The World’s Best Hummus (in my humble opinion)

12 Nov

I am a hummus fanatic.  I mean it.  I eat an unbelievable amount of it and still crave more.  Although I buy it sometimes, this is so easy (and cheap) that it is definitely worth making sometime.

I have given loose instructions for seasoning. I make this – like most things – to taste.  In order to season anything perfectly, you should taste as you go along and make it to your liking.

I eat it with crackers, in sandwiches, with falafel, on toast or just with crudites.  This veggie plate was awesome.

A noshing delight!

Ingredients:

32-oz can chickpeas, drained – liquid reserved

3 cloves garlic

1/4 cup tahini

juice of one lemon

tablespoon (or so) cumin

couple dashes cayenne pepper

splash of honey

kosher salt

pepper

Directions:

Put chickpeas and garlic in bowl of food processor.  Pulse a couple of times to puree. Add tahini and pulse again.  Add cumin, cayenne, pinch of salt, honey, and pepper.  Add bit of reserved liquid.  Turn food processor on.  Slowly add liquid to mixture until desired consistency is reached – I like it very creamy.  Taste and adjust seasoning as needed and then enjoy.  It is amazing – I promise.

Hummus

This is the true abrosia

Leave a Reply

