Homemade Tomato Sauce

9 Nov

Once I discovered how simple it was to make a delicious, homemade sauce from scratch, I (basically) stopped using sauce from the jar.  This is a simple, spicy tomato sauce that can be used over pasta, in baked dishes, or even used as a pizza sauce. I have about a billion variations on it and will change the seasoning depending on what I have fresh or how I am feeling.

Ingredients:

1-2 TBSP olive oil

small onion, diced

2-3 cloves garlic, crushed and sliced thinly

32-oz can diced tomatoes

2 teaspoons fresh oregano (or 1 tsp dried)

1 tablespoon fresh rosemary (or 1 tsp dried)

Red pepper flakes (to taste – I, obviously, use a lot)

S and P, to taste

Tomato paste (optional, only if using for pizza)

Directions:

Heat olive oil on medium-high heat in non-reactive pan (any pan that is not made of aluminum or non-coated cast iron).  Add onions and saute for a few minutes until the edges become clear.  Add garlic and stir.  Cook until fragrant (about 1 minute).  CAREFULLY add tomatoes (they will sputter a bit with the heat).  Bring to boil, stirring often then turn to medium-low to let simmer.

After about 5 minutes, add in spices. If you are using for pizza, add in a tablespoon or two of tomato paste. Let simmer additional 10 minutes.  Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary. If you prefer a less chunky sauce (I do if I am using it for pizza or lasagna) use a hand blender to smooth out consistency.

My version of arrabiata sauce. Yum!

This is so easy and incredibly delicious.  Maybe if you’re lucky (or if my husband is), I’ll share my vodka sauce soon as well (much more decadent).

Leave a Reply

